Nubia Brew: About us

Nubia Brew: a name that tells a story

There are many legends about the land of Nubia, a lot of them stemming from oral history as the Nubian peoples were culturally assimilated by Egypt from around 1500 BC. Geographically speaking, the region today stretches from the eastern end of the Nubian Desert to the Red Sea. The Libyan Desert marks its western edge, the 18th parallel its southern extremity. Nubia was somewhat larger before 1500 BC, extending far into what is now Egypt. The Nubians also ruled over the Ethiopians at that time, forming the first known black African state. These days, the region links the Mediterranean country of Egypt to the North with sub-Saharan Africa to the South.

Nubia Brew: Geschichte im Namen

The Nubian brewing tradition in Ethiopia

Nubische Braukunst in Äthiopien
01

Nubia is thought to have been much larger more than 3,000 years ago. Nubian tribes learned the art of brewing beer from the ancient Egyptians and made it their own.

02

Today’s Ethiopian families continue to brew beer with a wide range of colours and flavours using recipes that have been handed down through generations. The native gesho or shiny-leaf buckthorn is used in place of hops for bitterness.

03

Women are mostly responsible for continuing the tradition in Ethiopia. The brew, known as “tella”, is made from gesho, various types of wheat and several varieties of sorghum (Mashela, Dagussa, Teff and Gush).

04

The term “sorghum” covers a group of plants that have been serving as staple foodstuffs in Africa for countless centuries.

05

Since sorghum is a high-yielding plant and can be cultivated sustainably, it’s now being grown in Europe, North Africa and large parts of Asia as well.

Nubia Brew: A name rich in history, a beer rich in taste

Several types of sorghum millet lend distinctive flavour notes to Nubia Brew’s specialist beers. Using ancient crop plants and brewing in accordance with Swiss standards of quality, we bring the original taste of traditional recipes right up to date. Try our craft beers today – we think you’ll agree that nothing else tastes quite like them!

While dust collects on our books, the beer mug makes us wiser. While beer makes joyful looks, books cause frowns like a miser.
(Johann Wolfgang von Goethe)

Nubia Brew Geschmack trägt Geschichte im Namen

References

“I originally ordered Nubia Brew’s craft beer to give to guests who only tolerate gluten-free products, but now all my guests enjoy it. One bottle’s rarely enough for them, and no one has a bad word to say about it!”

Mr. M. Bezahdi

The Team

© 2016 iMizan GmbH, Dufaux-Strasse 41, 8152 Glattpark. All Rights Reserved. Web Site customisation by Web Kreativ Studio

Nubia Brew: Über uns

Nubia Brew: Geschichte im Namen

Über Nubien ranken sich viele Mythen. Da die nubischen Völker ab 1500 v. Chr. von Ägypten kulturell assimiliert wurden, basieren viele dieser Geschichten auf Überlieferungen. Heute reicht die Region geografisch vom Osten der Nubischen Wüste bis zum Roten Meer. Im Westen endet das Gebiet in der Libyschen Wüste. Die Südgrenze bildet die 18° geografische Breite. Bis ca. 1500 v. Chr. war Nubien einiges grösser und erstreckte sich bis weit ins heutige Ägypten hinein. Die Nubier herrschten zu jener Zeit auch über die Äthiopier und so galt Nubien als erster uns bekannter schwarzafrikanischer Staat. Heute gilt die Region als Schnittstelle zwischen dem ans Mittelmeer angrenzenden Ägypten und Schwarzafrika.

Nubia Brew: Geschichte im Namen

Nubische Braukunst in Äthiopien

Nubische Braukunst in Äthiopien
01

Vor mehr als 3000 Jahren soll Nubien weit grösser gewesen sein. Die Nubier übernahmen so auch die Braukunst von den alten Ägyptern und führten sie in ihren Stämmen fort.

02

Heute brauen äthiopische Familien ihre Biere weiterhin nach diesen überlieferten Rezepten, in diversen Geschmacks- und Farbrichtungen. Zur Hopfung wird die regionale Pflanze Gescho als Bitterstoff verwendet.

03

In Äthiopien sorgen insbesondere Frauen dafür, dass die Tradition weiter Bestand hat. Der Brau wird „Tela‟ genannt und mit Gescho, diversen Weizenarten und verschiedenen Shorgum-Sorten (Mashela, Dagussa, Teff, Gusch) gebraut.

04

Als Shorgum werden unterschiedliche, archaische Pflanzen bezeichnet, die in Afrika noch heute ein Grundnahrungsmittel sind.

05

Da mit Shorgum eine nachhaltige Agrarwirtschaft betrieben werden kann, wird diese genügsame Pflanze heute auch in Europa, Nordafrika und in weiten Teilen Asiens angebaut.

Nubia Brew: Geschmack trägt Geschichte im Namen

Unterschiedliche Sorghum-Hirsearten verleihen den Spezialbieren von Nubia Brew ihren geschmackvollen und ausdrucksstarken Charakter. Durch die Verwendung alter Kulturpflanzen – nach Schweizer Qualitätsstandards gebraut – bringen wir den originalen Geschmack traditioneller Rezepte in die Gegenwart. Zögern Sie nicht lange und lassen Sie sich beim Genuss unserer Craft-Biere vom einzigartigen Geschmackserlebnis überraschen.

Bestaubt sind unsere Bücher; der Bierkrug macht uns klüger. Das Bier schafft uns Genuss, die Bücher nur Verdruss.
(Johann Wolfgang von Goethe)

Nubia Brew Geschmack trägt Geschichte im Namen

Referenzen

„Ich habe anfänglich das Craft-Bier „Nubia Brew‟ für meine geladenen Gäste, welche nur glutenfreie Produkte vertragen, bestellt. Mittlerweile geniessen es alle meine Gäste. In der Regel wird mehr als eine Flasche (pro Person) konsumiert und es gibt rundum nur positive Rückmeldungen.‟

Herr M. Bezahdi

Das Team

© 2016 iMizan GmbH, Dufaux-Strasse 41, 8152 Glattpark. All Rights Reserved. Web Site customisation by Web Kreativ Studio