Nubia Brew: About us

Nubia Brew: a name that tells a story

There are many legends about the land of Nubia, a lot of them stemming from oral history as the Nubian peoples were culturally assimilated by Egypt from around 1500 BC. Geographically speaking, the region today stretches from the eastern end of the Nubian Desert to the Red Sea. The Libyan Desert marks its western edge, the 18th parallel its southern extremity. Nubia was somewhat larger before 1500 BC, extending far into what is now Egypt. The Nubians also ruled over the Ethiopians at that time, forming the first known black African state. These days, the region links the Mediterranean country of Egypt to the North with sub-Saharan Africa to the South.

Nubia Brew: Geschichte im Namen

The Nubian brewing tradition in Ethiopia

Nubische Braukunst in Äthiopien
01

Nubia is thought to have been much larger more than 3,000 years ago. Nubian tribes learned the art of brewing beer from the ancient Egyptians and made it their own.

02

Today’s Ethiopian families continue to brew beer with a wide range of colours and flavours using recipes that have been handed down through generations. The native gesho or shiny-leaf buckthorn is used in place of hops for bitterness.

03

Women are mostly responsible for continuing the tradition in Ethiopia. The brew, known as “tella”, is made from gesho, various types of wheat and several varieties of sorghum (Mashela, Dagussa, Teff and Gush).

04

The term “sorghum” covers a group of plants that have been serving as staple foodstuffs in Africa for countless centuries.

05

Since sorghum is a high-yielding plant and can be cultivated sustainably, it’s now being grown in Europe, North Africa and large parts of Asia as well.

Nubia Brew: A name rich in history, a beer rich in taste

Several types of sorghum millet lend distinctive flavour notes to Nubia Brew’s specialist beers. Using ancient crop plants and brewing in accordance with Swiss standards of quality, we bring the original taste of traditional recipes right up to date. Try our craft beers today – we think you’ll agree that nothing else tastes quite like them!

While dust collects on our books, the beer mug makes us wiser. While beer makes joyful looks, books cause frowns like a miser.
(Johann Wolfgang von Goethe)

Nubia Brew Geschmack trägt Geschichte im Namen

References

“I originally ordered Nubia Brew’s craft beer to give to guests who only tolerate gluten-free products, but now all my guests enjoy it. One bottle’s rarely enough for them, and no one has a bad word to say about it!”

Mr. M. Bezahdi

The Team

© 2016 iMizan GmbH, Dufaux-Strasse 41, 8152 Glattpark. All Rights Reserved. Web Site customisation by Web Kreativ Studio

Nubia Brew: à propos de nous

Nubia Brew: un nom, une histoire

Les mythes sur la Nubie sont légion. Du fait de l’intégration culturelle des peuples nubiens dans la civilisation égyptienne à partir de 1500 avant Jésus-Christ, nombre de ces légendes ont été transmises par les traditions. Aujourd’hui, la région s’étend de la partie orientale du désert de Nubie jusqu’à la mer Rouge tandis qu’à l’ouest, elle est délimitée par le désert de Libye. La frontière méridionale se trouve à 18° de latitude. Jusqu’en 1500 avant Jésus-Christ, le royaume de Nubie, plus vaste, s’étendait jusque dans l’Égypte actuelle. À cette époque, les Nubiens régnaient également sur le peuple éthiopien. Aussi associe-t-on la Nubie au premier État d’Afrique noire connu de notre civilisation. La région marque aujourd’hui la frontière entre l’Égypte bordant la Méditerranée et l’Afrique noire.

Nubia Brew: un nom, une histoire

L’art du brassage nubien en Éthiopie

L’art du brassage nubien en Éthiopie
01

Il y a plus de 3000 ans, la Nubie était bien plus vaste. Ce qui a permis aux Nubiens d’apprendre l’art du brassage des anciens Égyptiens et de le perpétuer au sein de leurs tribus.

02

Aujourd’hui, les familles éthiopiennes continuent de brasser leurs bières selon ces recettes ancestrales qui, transmises de génération en génération, offrent une diversité de saveurs et robes. Les feuilles de gesho, un arbuste local, sont utilisées pour le houblonnage.

03

En Éthiopie, ce sont surtout les femmes qui veillent à perpétuer la tradition. Le brassage, appelé «tela», est réalisé avec du gesho, plusieurs variétés de blé et de sorgho (mashela, dagussa, teff, gusch).

04

Le sorgho est un terme générique qui désigne différentes plantes très anciennes constituant aujourd’hui encore des denrées alimentaires de base en Afrique.

05

Le sorgho pouvant être facilement cultivé dans le cadre d’une agriculture durable, on le retrouve aujourd’hui en Europe, en Afrique du Nord et dans de grandes régions d’Asie.

Un goût qui évoque à la fois une histoire et un nom

Les différentes variétés de sorgho confèrent aux bières Nubia Brew leur caractère savoureux et expressif. L’utilisation de variétés anciennes, brassées selon les normes de qualité suisses, permet de retrouver le goût original des recettes traditionnelles. N’hésitez plus et découvrez le goût unique de nos bières artisanales.

La philosophie et la bière, c’est la même chose. Consommées, elles modifient toutes les perceptions que nous avons du monde.
(Dominique-Joël Beaupré)

Nubia Brew Geschmack trägt Geschichte im Namen

Références

«Au début, j’ai commandé la bière artisanale «Nubia Brew» pour certains de mes amis intolérants au gluten. Maintenant, ce sont tous mes invités qui la consomment. Je compte généralement plus d’une bouteille par personne et les avis sont tous positifs.»

Monsieur M. Bezahdi

L’équipe

© 2016 iMizan GmbH, Dufaux-Strasse 41, 8152 Glattpark. All Rights Reserved. Web Site customisation by Web Kreativ Studio